Monday, October 10, 2011

Spiritual inclination

There are many Gods and demigods in Vedic culture. While Brahma, Vishnu, Maheswara and Adi Sakti are considered the superior forms of divinity, deities like Indra, Varuna, Agni, Vayu are considered demigods. A person's (depending on his past karma) nature brings a natural disposition for him/her to connect with a particular form of God. The rules to evaluate this are very clearly mentioned in the classics of Vedic astrology.

The 5th house indicates one's mind, 9th house indicates one's spiritual progress and Guru. D-20 (Vimsamsa) indicates one's spiritual existence. So, in both D-1 and D-20, the 5th house and 9th house indicate whom one would like to pray. While applying these guidelines, it would be good to keep in mind, the association of planets with different deities.

In Brhatjataka, Varāhamihira said - Sun is Agni, Moon is Varuna, Mars is Subrahmanya (Skanda), Mercury is Vishnu, Jupiter is Indra, Venus is Indrani (wife of Indra), Saturn is Brahma. In general, astrologers (refer Sri PVR Narasimha Rao's text book on astrology, page 400, table 78):
  • Sun - Siva, Rama
  • Moon - Gauri, Lalita, Saraswati, Krishna
  • Mars - Hanuman, Rudra, Kartikeya (Skanda), Nrsimha
  • Mercury - Vishnu, Narayana, Buddha
  • Jupiter - Hayagreeva, Vishnu, Parameswara, Dattatreya, Any guru
  • Venus - Lakshmi, Parvati
  • Saturn - Vishnu, Brahma
  • Rahu - Durga, Nrsimha
  • Ketu - Ganesa
Also, I would strongly recommend reading this excellent piece of article on predicting ishtadevata (ishta - like, devata - deity) using jeevanmuktamsa.

Apart from these general rules, I'm listing down some specific rules from the classics.

From Jaimini Sutras by Jaimini Maharshi:

Note that there are alternative interpretation for the Jaimini sutras. In this context, some interpretations say that it is the 12th house from karakamsa that matters and not the karakamsa itself.
  • If Sun and Ketu are in karakamsa, one would pray to Lord Siva.
  • If Moon is in karakamsa, one would pray to Gouri (consort of Lord Siva).
  • If Venus is in karakamsa, one would pray to Lakshmi (consort of Lord Vishnu).
  • If Mars is in karakamsa, one would pray to Skanda (son of Lord Siva).
  • If Mercury and Saturn is in karakamsa, one would pray to Lord Vishnu.
  • If Jupiter is in karakamsa, one would pray to Sambasiva (Siva, along with Parvati).
  • If Rahu is in karakamsa, one would pray to either Durga or tamasic forms (aggressive deities or evil spirits).
  • If Ketu is in karakamsa, one would pray to Ganesa and Skanda.
  • If Saturn or Venus occupies karakamsa in a cruel sign, the person becomes a great devotee of evil spirits.
  • If the 5th or 9th from karakamsa are occupied by evil planets, the person becomes an black magician. If evil planets aspect them, it is more intense. If benefics aspect them, the native would exorcise evil spirits.
From Phaladeepika by Mantreswara:
  • If the Lord of the lagna, the Sun and the Moon are in exaltation, their own sign or a friend's sign, occupy quadrant or trine, Srikantha (Sri - poison, Kantha - throat) Yoga is formed. The native will be devoted to Lord Siva and he will be virtuous. The native will be tolerant to other opinions about God (religions).
  • If Venus, the lord of the 9th and Mercury be in similar positions (as the previous rule), the formed yoga is called Srinatha (Sri - prosperity, Goddess Lakshmi, naatha - lord) yoga. The native born with this yoga will be prosperous, soft-spoken and be devoted to Lord Narayana.
  • If Jupiter, the lord of the 5th and Saturn be similarly disposed, the yoga formed is called Virinchi (Lord Brahma) Yoga. The native born with this yoga will be inclined towards Lord Brahma. He will not deviate from the instructions in Vedas. He will have noble speech, complete control over his sense and will be respected by kings. 
From Brhat Parasara Hora Sastra by Parasara Muni:
  •  If lord of 1st house is in 9th house (dharmabhaavah), the native will be fortunate, dear to people and be a devotee of Sri Vishnu. (Chapter 24)
  • If lord of 4th house (bandhubhaavah) is in 5th house (putrabhaavam), the native will have self-earned wealth, be virtuous and be devoted to Sri Vishnu.
  • If Guru is in Prakasavastha and exalted, the native will be devoted to Sri Krishna. To compute the Sayanadyavastha (Chapter 45), please read this excellent write-up.
  • If Sani is in Prakasavastha, the native will be devoted to Lord Siva.
  • (Chapter-33) Depending on the 12th from karakamsa in navamsa (D-9):
    • if it has a 1. benefic exalted or in his own house OR 2. Ketu along with or aspected by a benefic -- the native will reach heaven.
    • if Ketu is in Mesha or Dhanus (which happens to be 12th from karakamsa) and aspected by a benefic, one would attain full enlightenment. If aspected by a malefic, one would NOT attain full enlightenment.
    • If Ketu and Sun are there, the native will worship Lord Siva.
    • Moon and Ketu indicate Gouri.
    • Venus and Ketu indicate Lakshmi.
    • Mars and Ketu indicate Subrahmanya.
    • Rahu indicates Durga or an aggressive/negative deity.
    • Ketu in isolation indicates Ganesa or Subrahmanya.
    • Saturn indicates negative deities.
    • Venus and Saturn together indicate negative deities.
  • All the above rules can be applied to the 6th from Karakamsa in Navamsa.


  1. Dear Sr. I'm looking for the correct Ishta Devata in order to follow an appropiate path. Please help question is not about future but about my spiritual life.

    Date: 12 april 1979
    Time: 13:15
    Place: Bucarmanga, Colombia.

    1. Your Ishta Devata would be a form of Sun. In Hinduism, Sri Rama would be your Ishta Devata. Wishing you all the best with your Sadhana.

    2. Thank you very much for your guide. I wanted to thank you for a long time. By the way, which ayanamsa do you use?

    3. I am currently experimenting with Lahiri & Pushyapaksha. No winner yet.


Please don't post your birth details here and ask me about your future. Please don't try to argue against the validity of Vedic Astrology.